Menu
This Season

Please note: a £1.25 Transaction Charge will be applied to your booking

A £1 restoration levy will also be added to each ticket. This is for the essential maintenance and renovation work of the Theatre.

ROS: Pirates of Penzance

ROS: Pirates of Penzance
On the coast of Cornwall, a band of tender-hearted pirates celebrate the coming of age of Frederic, who was mistakenly apprenticed to the pirates until his 21st birthday. Now, Frederic has vowed to devote his life to the extermination of piracy - until a ludicrous leap year snag threatens to keep him apprenticed to the pirates for life! Throw in a bevy of beauties, a brash Pirate King, the delightfully stuffy Major-General Stanley and you've got a masterpiece of musical theatre. Patter songs are a Gilbert & Sullivan trademark, and Pirates features the most famous of them all, ‘I am the very model of a modern Major-General’, as well as highlights like Mabel’s show-stopping coloratura aria ‘Poor Wandering One’.

Book Tickets

Wednesday 24 May 201719:30
Thursday 25 May 201719:30
Friday 26 May 201719:30
Saturday 27 May 201719:30

Cinderella

Cinderella
Vienna Festival Ballet presents the classic tale of 'Cinderella', one of the best-known rags-to-riches fairy tales of all time. A mistreated young girl, a glass slipper, two comical ugly step-sisters and a handsome prince combine to make the perfect piece of story-telling. Based on the traditional story, Vienna Festival Ballet’s production of Cinderella will reach out and touch everyone’s heart, with its combination of pure classical dancing and a hint of pantomime. The music contains a collection of Rossini’s most famous operatic achievements and has been especially arranged for Vienna Festival Ballet. Choreography by Sheila Styles

Book Tickets

Wednesday 31 May 201719:30
Thursday 1 Jun 201719:30

My Sweet Patootie

My Sweet Patootie
My Sweet Patootie is contemporary roots and ragtime at its best; bringing tight harmonies, monstrous guitar, sizzling fiddle and percussion together in one perfect package. Founded in 2007 by Canadian Folk Music Award winners Sandra Swannell and Terry Young, the trio has a growing international reputation. From humorous original swing to funky fiddle-tunes to exquisite ballads, their vintage-style song writing is rooted in folk, Americana and jazz; heavily influenced by the likes of Chet Atkins, Lenny Breau, Les Paul and Mary Ford, and the Andrews Sisters. Throw in a penchant for light-hearted satire and their love of artists like Patsy Cline and Hank Williams, and you get a show that has been described as two parts exemplary musicianship and one part vaudeville comedy.

Book Tickets

Friday 2 Jun 201719:30

Painting the Theatre:

Painting the Theatre:
Painting the Theatre: Garrick in Action A talk by Véronique Gerard Powell Monday 5th June at 7.30pm The Paul Iles Learning Centre To mark the 300th anniversary of the birth of England's best-known actor from the eighteenth-century, David Garrick (1717-1779), the Bowes Museum is presenting an exhibition of paintings that represent Garrick in action. International art historian and guest curator at the Bowes, Véronique Gerard Powell, will speak about the way that the exhibition was put together. At the centre of the display are two paintings by Johann Zoffany (1733-1810) that were recently acquired by the Museum. These two paintings, were commissioned by Garrick, and show: David Garrick and Mrs Cibber as Jaffier and Belvidera in ‘Venice Preserv’d’ and David Garrick and Mary Bradshaw in David Garrick’s ‘The Farmer’s Return’. Through these, and the other paintings, engravings, contemporary mezzotints and theatrical paraphernalia that make up the exhibition, Véronique will consider how artists depicted the ‘theatrical action’, and how these representations encouraged the emerging phenomenon of ‘celebrity’. Tickets: £5 to include a glass of wine

Book Tickets

Monday 5 Jun 201719:30

The Loves of Mars & Venus

The Loves of Mars & Venus
Celebrating the 300th anniversary of the world’s first ballet, performed at Drury Lane Theatre in 1717, this enchanting production tells the story of John Weaver’s heroic struggle to create his groundbreaking dance drama in a theatre world which saw dance as a frivolous side show. The magic and excitement of early 18th century theatre is evoked by an actor portraying Weaver and his stage character Vulcan, baroque dancers playing Venus and Mars, and an on-stage ensemble performing contemporary music by Lully, Purcell, William Croft and Jeremiah Clarke. The production includes original 18th century choreographies and splendid baroque costumes.

Book Tickets

Thursday 8 Jun 201716:00

The Fable of The Good Fellow

The Fable of The Good Fellow
The Trickster figure has been the subject of stories in every culture since the beginning of time. In this fable, Robin Goodfellow wreaks havoc on the 9 o'clock train from York to London and teaches the passengers more than one lesson on the way.

Book Tickets

Monday 12 Jun 201719:30

The Myth of the Richmond Drummer Boy

The Myth of the Richmond Drummer Boy
A fresh take on Richmond's very own myth! Young soldiers from a nearby garrison can't help but explore the grounds of the castle and convince their plucky drummer boy to delve into a tiny passageway searching for a secret path.

Book Tickets

Tuesday 13 Jun 201719:30

Dark Yorkshire

Dark Yorkshire
Murder, prophecy and the supernatural bleeds into every aspect of Yorkshire’s history. The senior members of the Youth Theatre present their own take on many of these dark stories. Not for the faint hearted!

Book Tickets

Tuesday 11 Jul 201719:30

Life in Harmony

Life in Harmony
The Youth Theatre's Musical Theatre students explore all of those unforgettable moments in life. From that first ever detention, first love and heartbreak to the labyrinth that is the world of work and beyond. Featuring songs from 'Matilda the Musical' 'Hairspray' and 'Our House', this show is full of humour, music and memories that we all share.

Book Tickets

Wednesday 12 Jul 201719:30

RADS: Murder Mystery

RADS: Murder Mystery
Every drama group knows the horrors of what can go wrong on opening night, and the ladies of the F.A.H.E.T.G. Dramatic Society are no different, with the possible exception that almost everything that could happen does! Scenery collapses, cues are missed, lines forgotten, and sound effects mistimed, as the ladies entertain with the cunning whodunit, ‘Murder At Checkmate Manor.’ And just in case the audience should get bored there's a Film Show and Murder Mystery Quiz, complete with a Prize! The crunch comes in the denouement when the ‘murderer’, about to be revealed, has to rush home to bandage up an injured daughter. But Mrs Reece, doyenne of the group, rises above the slings and arrows of outrageous dramatics to save the situation and provide the final inventive twist.

Book Tickets

Thursday 27 Jul 201719:30
Friday 28 Jul 201719:30
Saturday 29 Jul 201719:30
Thursday 3 Aug 201719:30
Friday 4 Aug 201719:30
Saturday 5 Aug 201719:30

The Wizard of Oz

The Wizard of Oz
Click your heels together and transport yourself to the wonderful world of Oz! This year’s pantomime is based on the much-loved story of Dorothy and her friends the Lion, Scarecrow, Tin Woodman and, of course, Toto the dog. This centuries-old tale has captivated generations and is sure to be a hit with audiences of all ages, from those who remember the original 1939 movie to those who are taking the yellow brick road for the first time. Over the years, The Georgian Theatre Royal has built up an enviable reputation for its pantomimes, which are well-known throughout the region for the very best in festive entertainment. We promise star-quality performances, catchy songs, dazzling special effects and oodles of hilarious family-style fun. So, shut your eyes and repeat three times …. ‘There’s no place like the Georgian’. We’ll do the rest!

Book Tickets

Thursday 7 Dec 201710:0013:30
Friday 8 Dec 201710:0013:30
Saturday 9 Dec 201714:0019:00
Sunday 10 Dec 201713:0017:00
Monday 11 Dec 201710:0013:30
Tuesday 12 Dec 201710:00
Thursday 14 Dec 201710:0013:30
Friday 15 Dec 201713:3019:00
Saturday 16 Dec 201714:0019:00
Sunday 17 Dec 201713:0017:00
Tuesday 19 Dec 201710:0013:30
Wednesday 20 Dec 201710:0013:30
Thursday 21 Dec 201710:0013:30
Friday 22 Dec 201710:0019:00
Saturday 23 Dec 201714:0019:00
Sunday 24 Dec 201713:0017:00
Tuesday 26 Dec 201714:0019:00
Wednesday 27 Dec 201714:0019:00
Thursday 28 Dec 201714:0019:00
Friday 29 Dec 201714:0019:00
Saturday 30 Dec 201714:0019:00
Sunday 31 Dec 201713:00
Tuesday 2 Jan 201814:0019:00
Wednesday 3 Jan 201814:0019:00
Thursday 4 Jan 201814:0019:00
Friday 5 Jan 201814:0019:00
Saturday 6 Jan 201814:0019:00
Sunday 7 Jan 201813:0017:00